C. UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Program

UNESCO Chairs is the main part of the “World Plan of Interuniversity Cooperation and Academic Mobility”, adopted at the 26th session of the UNESCO General Conference in 1991. Today the UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Program has about 800 UNESCO Chairs and UNITWIN Networks in 126 countries. The UNITWIN Network is one of the most important types of cross-sectoral activities in the field of education.

Results of the work over the past decade give the grounds to assert that the UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Program is one of the most fruitful initiatives of UNESCO, which is welcomed today by the entire university and the scientific community of the world. The UNESCO Chairs play an increasingly important role in sharing experience, knowledge and information on a whole range of issues relating to higher education and the development of science; provide Russian universities and scientific institutions entry into the current world system of multilateral inter-university and scientific cooperation.

In Russia, the Coordination Committee of UNESCO Chairs in the Russian Federation is successfully operating, created by decision of the All-Russian Congress of UNESCO Chairs on March 1, 2007. Head of the Committee is V.K.Yegorov, Rector of the Russian Academy of Public Administration under the President of the Russian Federation (member of the Commission of the Russian Federation for UNESCO). The Committee comprises the heads of several Russian UNESCO Chairs, as well as representatives of the Russian Committees of UNESCO Programs.

In universities and higher educational institutions of Russia there are 51 UNESCO Chairs:

  1. “New Information Technologies in Education and Science”, Kemerovo State University;
  2. “Education Sciences”, A.I.Herzen State Pedagogical University of Russia, St. Petersburg;
  3. “Theory and Practice of Polylingual Education in the Caucasus”, North Ossetian Pedagogical University, Vladikavkaz;
  4. “Management and Strategic Planning in Universities”, A.M.Gorky Ural State University. Yekaterinburg;
  5. “Distance Education in Engineering”, St. Petersburg State University of Aerospace Instrumentation;
  6. “Training and Retraining of Specialists under Market Economy Conditions”, Academy of Management “TISBI”, Kazan;
  7. “Training and retraining of specialists in the field of municipal management”, the Moscow City Government University of Management;
  8. “Policy Issues in Higher Education”, Peoples' Friendship University of Russia, Moscow;
  9. “Education in a Multicultural and Multi-Religious Society”, Bashkir State University, Ufa;
  10. “Technical and Vocational Education and Training”, International Training Systems Center, Moscow;
  11. “Psychology and Pedagogy of Higher Education”, the Academy of Law and Management, Moscow;
  12. “International (Multicultural) Education and Adaptation of Migrant Children in Schools”, Moscow State Open University;
  13. UNITWIN Network for achieving the objectives of the Education for All Program, Russian Academy of Education, Moscow;
  14. “Human Rights and Democracy”, Moscow State Institute of International Relations (University) of the MFA of Russia;
  15. “Intercultural Dialogue and Social Interaction”, Moscow State Linguistic University;
  16. “Healthy Lifestyle is the Key to Successful Development”, Moscow State Medical and Dental University;
  17. “Public Administration and Management of Socio-Economic Processes”, Russian Academy of Public Administration under the President of the Russian Federation, Moscow;
  18. “Social and Human Sciences”, Institute of Social and Political Researches, RAS, Moscow;
  19. “Education for a Culture of Peace and Human Rights”, the Kabardino-Balkarian State University, Nalchik;
  20. “Culture of Peace and Democracy”, Russian State Humanities University, Moscow;
  21. “Learning Communities and Social and Sustainable Development”, Astrakhan State University;
  22. “Human Rights, Democracy, Peace, Tolerance and International Understanding”, A.M.Gorky Ural State University, Yekaterinburg;
  23. UNESCO-INCORVUZ Chair/Network for the “Development of Non-Governmental Organizations”, Russian State Social University, Moscow;
  24. “Philosophy in the Dialogue of Cultures”, the Institute of Philosophy, Academy of Sciences, Moscow;
  25. “Clean Production Techniques and Technology”, Moscow State University of Environmental Engineering;
  26. “High Technology in Education and Science”, Moscow State Institute of Electronic Technology (Technical University);
  27. “Environmental and Engineering Geology for Sustainable Development”, Moscow State University of Environmental Engineering;
  28. “Sustainable Development, Environmental Sciences and Social Problems”, Novosibirsk State University;
  29. “Marine Geology and Geophysics”, M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University;
  30. “Ecologically Safe Development of the Large Region - the Volga basin”, Nizhniy Novgorod State University of Architecture and Civil Engineering;
  31. “Technology Transfer for Sustainable Development”, International Training Systems Center, Moscow;
  32. “New Materials and Technologies”, Siberian Federal University, Krasnoyarsk;
  33. “Environmental Ethics”, East Siberian State Technological University, Ulan-Ude;
  34. “Water Resources”, Irkutsk State University;
  35. “Renewable Energy and Rural Electrification”, All-Russian Research Institute for Electrification of Agriculture, Moscow;
  36. “Remote Sensing and Modeling in Oceanography”, Russian State Hydrometeorological University, St. Petersburg;
  37. “Marine Ecology”, Far Eastern National University, Vladivostok;
  38. “Environmental Education in Siberia”, I.I.Polzunov Altai State Technical University, Barnaul;
  39. “Regional Studies for Environmental and Population Issues”, K.L. Khetagurov North Ossetian State University, Vladikavkaz;
  40. “Environmental Dynamics and Global Climate Change”, Ugra State University, Khanty-Mansiysk;
  41. “Forest Ecosystems Biodiversity Conservation in the Context of Sustainable Development”, State Forestry Engineering Academy;
  42. “Journalism and Mass Communication”, M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University;
  43. “Cultural Tourism for Peace and Development”, Russian International Academy of Tourism, Moskovskaya oblast, Skhodnya;
  44. “Urban and Architectural Conservation”, Moscow Academy of Restoration;
  45. “Comparative Studies of Spiritual Traditions, their Specific Cultures and Interreligious Dialogue”, Saint-Petersburg branch of the Russian Institute for Cultural Research of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation;
  46. “Theatre Enhancing Education and Cultural Understanding”, Russian Academy of Theatre Arts (GITIS), Moscow;
  47. “Copyright and Other Intellectual Property Rights”, Institute of International Law and Economics, Moscow;
  48. “Fine Arts and Architecture”, Russian Academy of Arts, Moscow;
  49. “Language Education as a Means of Preserving Cultural Heritage”, Pushkin State Russian Language Institute, Moscow;
  50. “Eurasian Studies: Cultural Diversity and Cultural Policies”, Kazan State University;
  51. “Community of Knowledge and New Information Technologies”, New Russian University, Moscow.

UNESCO Chairs have opened more than 200 branches and offices in various cities of Russia.

Significance for Russia:
• International networks of the inter-university cooperation and the UNESCO Chairs represent an important and dynamically developing mechanism for the involvement of Russian educational institutions in the world's infrastructure and market of educational services.
• The network of UNESCO Chairs is accumulating best practices and contributes to its spread in Russia for the benefit sustainable development.