Four universities claim to open UNESCO Chairs in Russia

Printer friendly


Four Russian universities have applied for the creation of UNESCO Chairs. The coordinating committee of the UNESCO Chairs of Russia considered the applicants' documents at the retreat session in Ryazan on Tuesday, said Olga Schetinkina, Minister of Education and Youth Policy of the Ryazan Region. Among the applicants there are Ryazan State University named for S. Yesenin, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, Northern (Arctic) Federal University named after M.V. Lomonosov and the Higher School of Economics. "Four applications were reviewed, adjustments were made, and time was given to finalize these applications. The next meeting of the committee [at which it is planned to make a decision on the opening of the chairs] will be held in April 2019," said Schetinkina.

Each of the universities presented educational projects that are planned to be implemented in the framework of the chairs. So, the Northern (Arctic) Federal University named after M. V. Lomonosov intends to study the objects of cultural heritage of the northern and Arctic territories. Ryazan State University named for S. Yesenin chose the socio-cultural environment of ancient cities as the main direction of the study. "The idea of creating the chairs stayed long ago, but after the Forum of Ancient Cities held in Ryazan in August 2018, it became clear to everyone. The chair is planned to be created at the Faculty of History and

International Relations," said the press secretary of RSU named for Yesenin, Daria Sterligova.

UNESCO Chairs are created in Russian universities in the framework of the UNITWIN program, which has been implemented by the UNESCO Institute for Information Technologies, which has been working in Moscow since 1997. As of the end of 2017, there are 65 such chairs in Russia, including in Moscow, St. Petersburg, Kemerovo, Yekaterinburg, Kazan, etc.

Source: TASS