Nina Dagbayeva

The strategy of Education for sustainable development in the region of Baikal: experience and perspectives

After the Worldwide Summit on sustainable development in Johannesburg in 2002 UNESCO has initiated the program for ten years of education for sustainable development (ESD). This issue has become the subject of my scientific research for a long period of time, and the ideas have started to implement in practice of educational establishments of the Republic of Buryatia.

The Strategy of sustainable development was worked out for our region after the analysis of national and international educational conditions, experience of educational institutions work, on the basis of cooperation among scientists and experts, politicians and managers.

 

The results of ten years activity

 

Scientific ideas of sustainable development for the Baikal region were developed in the doctor's degree dissertation and further publications of the author and my disciples. Five dissertations of candidates of pedagogics analyze different aspects of education for sustainable development: didactic basics of a national and regional component of ecological education, the usage of telecommunication projects in the system of ecological education, problems of intercultural and ecological education in various multicultural environments, ecological education at different stages, including preschool education. The concept of ecological education in social and natural environment was developed by the author of the article at the beginning of the 2000s, it has been supported by many schools and has been described in publications (1, 2, 3).

Education for sustainable development is widely used at many schools and it has introduced a number of positive changes in their activity. Among those it is possible to note the practice-focused character of ecological activity, "coordination" of nature protection work and actual environmental problems of a settlement or district, involvement of children and adults in joint activity, development students’ practical skills.

 

The ideas of Local Order-21 were involved into the work of secondary educational institutions in different settlements: settlement Onokhoy, in villages Kizhinga, Khuramsha, Barguzin, etc. On the basis of high schools of local community the ideas of social partnership, realization of intersubject communications, development and implementation of social and ecological projects are fulfilled. The root of education in pilot schools is combination of theoretical and practical training in the development and realization of programs of education for sustainable development in local communities. The distinct feature of school models is the orientation on ethnic traditions of people living on the coast of Baikal, special culture and ecological basis of Buddhist philosophy.

 

Interactive methods and trainings were approved, information  technologies were used in the process, including international projects, for example, «Water for the sake of  life » (2004-2006), «Practice-oriented  ecological education and the Internet». Practical actions were carried out to solve social problems of local settlements, for example, in the village of Barguzin students with their teacher Matkhonova S.P. have solved a long-term problem with the river Bannaya. They have strengthened the riverbed which used to break its banks and cause floods in the streets of the settlement every spring.

The scientific school of the author has issued scientific and educational publications devoted to this problem. One of the last editions is the methodical set «Baikal treasure schest» which was approved by the Board of the Ministry of Education and science of the Republic of Buryatia of general and supplementary education. The book is an integrated course for pupils of primary and secondary school. The project is supported by the Program of development of the United Nations and the company Coca-cola. The book will be presented at the conference.

 

Interaction between public ecological organizations and educational institutions has been established: Baikal information centre "Gran" and the Buryat state university have developed and carried out international projects, and signed a contract for four years with German colleagues – public “Union of ecology and ecological education” and the University of Osnabruck. The innovative program «Intercultural ecological education» (co-authored with G.Becker) is fulfilled and the project «Biological and cultural variety of regions: Buryatia - Niedersachsen» has been carried out for eight years, it has received the award «Official project of the United Nations in education for sustainable development (BNE) 2005-2014» three times.

 

The optional course for bachelors of pedagogical education «Education for sustainable development» was developed and introduced into the curriculum. What competence should a teacher possess in carrying out the ideas of education for sustainable development at school? We develop such general competences according to Federal State Educational Standard: the ability to use knowledge in modern natural-science mapping of the world in educational and professional activities, to develop welfare programs for various categories of population, including usage of information technologies. We support such special competences as readiness for tolerant perception of social and cultural distinctions, regardful and careful attitude to natural and cultural heritage, readiness to join interaction with social partners in realization of welfare projects.

We consider communicative competences to be important in practical activities of a teacher: skills to avoid conflicts, and to work in a team, abilities to plan and organize the process. The success is defined by availability of knowledge, system thinking, and emotional responsiveness, system of ethics and values, and readiness to act.

Lessons learned:

- Education for sustainable development in our region as well as all across Russia remains to be work of enthusiasts, and it has occasional character, it depends on ideological inspirers on behalf of scientists, and understanding of this educational field importance by chiefs at different levels: republican, regional and school levels. Education for sustainable development reminds a tree – a fur-tree: the subject is evergreen, today it is decorated by beautiful calls and proper words, correct objectives, models and technologies; separate enthusiasts conduct an optimistic New Year's round dance, teachers like children are pleased with new ideas, but there is a danger that after a holiday (at the end of UNESCO program) it will be thrown out.

- The majority of scientists and teachers tend to be frightened or worried at the concept «education for sustainable development». They think this issue is about everything without precise character, thus it is prevented from getting into current curricula and programs. There are no clear or obvious borders of its content, it implies various subjects: energy, health of social justice, climate change, globalization, different approaches are used: complete and interdisciplinary, system approach and others.

In my opinion for the further practical realization of education for sustainable development ideas it is necessary:

- that the best practices of schools and local communities should be announced and the platform for experience exchange should be created throughout the territory of the Russian Federation;

- that we should continue to work on sustainable development ideas to be introduced into public consciousness, politicians and civil servants who take decisions, mass-media and business community; people do not know or do not accept the ideas of stability as a need of today;

- Understanding continuous character of education for sustainable development and considering its weak sides we should concentrate efforts on preschool and primary school (to develop curriculum, grants, etc.) and preparation of future teachers as basic agents of education for sustainable development. The ideas of education for sustainable development have not been scientifically and practically introduced into professional training of future teachers in the aspect of readiness for ideas of education for sustainable development fulfillment at school.

- Considering the commercial character of education and science its hopeless to expect actual results that ideas of education for sustainable development  will be implemented into the system of continuous education without such investments as financial, in teachers’ preparation, support of scientific research in the form of grants established by state and specialized ministries. Education for sustainable development remains to be occasional positive experience in separate regions and communities.

- Subjects of education for sustainable development are as various as life. If education for sustainable development is issued as an educational order, which each person will see vital «lifelong education» and «education for sustainable development» will be two sides of the same coin.

 

Sources:

 

  1. Dagbayeva N.Zh. The school of ecological development: monograph (co-authored). – Ulan-Ude: Buryat state university publishers, 2003.
  2.  Dagbayeva N.Zh. The models of ecological-oriented schools in the educational area of Baikal region: - Ulan-Ude: Buryat state university publishers, 2002
  3. Dagbayeva N.Zh. The development of school ecological education for local population sustain// Pedagogics.-  2004. - №3.
  4. Dagbayeva N.Zh. Education for sustainable development; the experience of multicultural interaction.- Ulan-Ude: Buryat state university publishers and Nuso-Verlag (Germany), 2009.
  5. Dagbayeva N.Zh. Ecological education of students in varied social and natural conditions: - Ulan-Ude: Buryat state university publishers, 2007
  6. Baikal little treasure chest: study set for primary and secondary school students. Writing team, editor-in-chief Dagbayeva N.Zh. – Moscow, Buryat state university publishers, 2012.

Россия и ЮНЕСКО
Постоянное представительство России при ЮНЕСКО
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'2014
Вестник ЮНЕСКО №20'201460 лет с ЮНЕСКО
 

Н.Ж.Дагбаева

Стратегия ОУР в Байкальском регионе: опыт и перспективы

 

После Всемирного Саммита по устойчивому развитию в Йоханнесбурге в 2002 г. ЮНЕСКО была инициирована Декада образования для устойчивого развития. Эта тема стала проблемой моих научных исследований на долгие годы, и основанием  для реализации ее идей в практике образовательных учреждений Республики Бурятия.

Стратегия ОУР для нашего региона разрабатывалась исходя из анализа национальных и международных образовательных усилий,  экспертизы и знания опыта деятельности образовательных учреждений , на основе инициируемого диалога ученых и практиков, политиков и управленцев.

 

Что сделано за это десятилетие?

 

Разработаны научные идеи ОУР для Байкальского региона, которые нашли отражение в докторской диссертации и дальнейших публикациях автора и моих учеников. Защищено пять кандидатских диссертаций, анализирующие разные аспекты ОУР: дидактические основы национально-регионального компонента экологического образования, использование телекоммуникационных проектов в системе экологического образования, проблемы межкультурного и экологического образования в различных поликультурных средах, экологическое образование на разных ступенях, в том числе в дошкольном образовании. Разработанная автором статьи концепция экологического образования в социоприродном окружении в начале 2000-х годов нашла отклик среди многих школ и была изложена в ряде публикаций (1, 2, 3).

Образование для устойчивого развития (ОУР), активно развиваемое во многих школах, привнесло в их деятельность множество положительных элементов. Среди таковых можно отметить практико-ориентированный характер экологической деятельности, «увязывание» природоохранной работы с реальными экологическими проблемами поселения или микрорайона, вовлечение детей и взрослых в совместную деятельность, развитие практических умений школьников.

В практике работы общеобразовательных учреждений реализованы идеи Местной Повестки-21 в различных поселениях: поселке Онохой, в селах Кижинга, Хурамша, Баргузин и др. На базе  средних школ местного сообщества  отработаны идеи социального партнерства, реализации межпредметных связей, разработки и реализации социально-экологических проектов. В основе обучения пилотных школ - сочетание теоретической подготовки с практической деятельностью по разработке и реализации программ устойчивого развития  местного сообщества. Особенностью школьных моделей является опора на этнические традиции народов, проживающих на берегах Байкала, особая сакральность и экологичность буддийской философии.

Апробированы интерактивные методы и тренинги, использованы информационно-коммуникационные технологии при реализации, в том числе международных проектов как «Вода ради жизни» (2004-2006), «Практико-ориентированное экологическое образование и интернет». Реализованы  практические акции по решению социально значимых проблем местного поселения, как например, в селе Баргузин школьники с учителем Матхоновой С.П. решили многолетнюю проблему с рекой Банной, которая каждую весну выходила из берегов и подтопляла улицы поселка, укрепив русло этой реки.

 

Научной школой автора опубликованы научные и учебные издания, посвященные этой проблематике. Одним из последних изданий является методический комплект «Байкальский сундучок», который утвержден на Коллегии Министерства образования и науки РБ для системы общего и дополнительного образования и предусмотрен как интегративный курс для учащихся младших и средних классов. Проект поддержан Программой развития ООН и компанией Кока-Кола. Настоящий комплект будет презентован на конференции.

 

Отработано реальное взаимодействие общественных экологических организаций и образовательных учреждений, как пример, Байкальский информационный центр «Грань»  и Бурятский госуниверситет, в разработке и реализации международных проектов, и заключение четырехстороннего договора с немецкими коллегами – общественным «Союзом экологии и экологического образования» и университетом г.Оснабрюк. Совместно с немецкими учеными отработано инновационное направление «межкультурное экологическое образование» (в соавторстве с Г.Беккером)  и в течение восьми лет осуществляется проект «Биологическое и культурное разнообразие регионов: Бурятия - Нижняя Саксония», который трижды получил знак «Официальный проект Декады ООН по образованию для устойчивого развития (BNE) 2005-2014».

 

В собственной педагогической практике разработан и внедрен в учебный план курс по выбору для бакалавров педагогического образования «Образование для устойчивого развития». Какими компетенциями должен обладать учитель, осуществляющий идеи ОУР в школе? Среди общих компетенций согласно ФГОСу мы выделяем способность использовать знания о современной естественнонаучной картине мира в образовательной и профессиональной сфере деятельности,  разрабатывать социально-культурные  программы для различных категорий населения, в том числе  с использованием ИКТ. В качестве специальных компетенций выделяем готовность к толерантному восприятию социальных и культурных различий, уважительному и бережному отношению к природному и культурному наследию, готовность включаться во взаимодействие с социальными партнерами в реализации социально-культурных проектов.

         Для практической деятельности учителю, на наш взгляд, важны коммуникативные компетенции, умение решать конфликты, и работать в команде, умение планировать и организовать процесс.  Успех предопределен при наличии знаний, системного мышления, эмоциональной отзывчивости, сформированности этических и ценностных установок, и готовности действовать.

 

Извлеченные уроки (lessons learned):

- ОУР в нашем регионе, равно как и по всей России остается делом энтузиастов, и имеет «очаговый» опыт, в зависимости от идейных вдохновителей в лице ученых, и осознания  важности этого образовательного поля руководителями на разных уровнях: республиканском, районном и школьном. Образно говоря, ОУР напоминает дерево – ель: тематика будет и есть вечнозеленая, она сегодня украшена красивыми призывами и правильными словами, верными целями, моделями и технологиями: и отдельные энтузиасты ведут оптимистичный новогодний хоровод, учителя как дети радуются новым идеям, но есть опасность, что ее после праздника (после завершения Декады) выбросят на улицу.

- Большинство ученых и учителей практиков пугаются или испытывают беспокойство от самого понятия «ОУР».  Им кажется, что эта область  обо всем, без четкой специфики, и это мешает втиснуться в текущие учебные планы и программы. Нет никаких ясных или очевидных границ содержания, обширная тематика – вопросы энергии, здоровья социальной справедливости, изменения климата, глобализации, используются разные  подходы: целостный и междисциплинарный, системный  и др..

В качестве реальных действий для дальнейшего развития идей ОУР и ее практической реализации, на мой взгляд, нужно:

- придавать гласности передовой опыт  школ и местных сообществ  (best practices in schools and communities), и создать платформу для общения и обмена опытом на всей территории Российской Федерации;

- необходима планомерная работа по внедрению идей ОУР в общественное сознание, работа с политиками и государственными служащими, принимающими решения, а значит работа со СМИ и бизнес сообществом, так как общественность еще не знает, или не принимает идеи устойчивости как настоятельную потребность сегодняшнего дня;

- понимая непрерывный характер УОР, но, учитывая слабые инвестиции, сосредоточить усилия, прежде всего, на дошкольном и младшем школьном возрастах (разработать учебные программы, пособия и т.д.) и на подготовке будущих учителей, как основных агентов ОУР в системе образования. До сегодняшнего дня профессиональное образование будущих педагогов в аспекте подготовленности для реализации идей ОУР в школе  не нашло научной и практической разработки.

- учитывая все возрастающую коммерциализацию образования и науки, надеяться на то, что и дальше будут разрабатываться идеи ОУР в системе непрерывного образования без инвестиций: финансовых, в подготовке педкадров, в поддержке научных исследований в виде  грантов, со стороны государства и профильных министерств, ожидать реальных результатов не приходится. ОУР останется «очаговым» позитивным опытом в отдельных регионах и сообществах.

- темы ОУР так же многогранны, как и сама жизнь, которую проживает каждый из нас. Если ОУР будет оформлен как образовательный заказ, который каждый человек воспримет как жизненно важный, то «образование в течение всей жизни» и «образование для устойчивого развития» будут двумя сторонами одной медали.

Список литературы:

  1. Дагбаева Н.Ж. Школа экологического развития: Монография  (в соавт.). - Улан-Удэ: Изд-во Бурятского госуниверситета, 2003. –
  2.  Дагбаева Н.Ж. Модели школ экологической направленности в образовательном пространстве Байкальского региона: - Улан-Удэ: Изд-во Бурятского научного центра, 2002
  3. Дагбаева Н.Ж. Развитие школьного экологического образования для устойчивости местного сообщества  // Педагогика.-  2004. - №3.
  4. Дагбаева Н.Ж. Образование для устойчивого развития: опыт межкультурного взаимодействия.- Улан-Удэ: Изд-во Бурятского госуниверситета и  Nuso-Verlag (Германия ) 2009.
  5. Дагбаева Н.Ж. Экологическое образование школьников в изменяющихся социоприродных  условиях: - Улан-Удэ: Изд-во БГУ, 2007
  6. Байкальский сундучок: учебно-методический комплект для учащихся младших и средних классов. Авторский коллектив, ответ ред. Дагбаева Н.Ж. -М., Изд-во БГУ, 2012.